Altiholism and a Stand Down


Star Wars The Old Republic-05-16-2015 10-25-31Over the weekend, I did a ton of experimenting with different types of classes. Some made it, some got fired repeatedly. Not out of boredom but more out of getting a feel for things. But let’s fast forward to yesterday for a sec. I promise it won’t take too long.

I Stood Down from gaming yesterday. Kept a couple of beers on the side. For the States, Memorial Day Weekend was observed and a holiday given yesterday. It was my time to remember my brothers and sisters who were no longer there. Look, I don’t claim a status of being a hero. A hero is more often a common person who get’s stuck in some extraordinary circumstances and just deals with them. At any rate, my remembrance wasn’t to go observe some great ceremony. I’ve never been big on them. It was to remember a few friends/comrades that lost their lives over the years I’ve deployed. I’m not gonna get too much into that. Suffice to say, my moments were quiet and had to do more with the good memories, not the Memorial Daybad. Faces sometimes fade. But occasionally a smile, a joke, or conversation comes to mind. I won’t go into the politics behind the losses. In the end, those things have nothing to do with why we fight in the ugliest moments. It has to do more with the people around you, the left, right, front and behind. All the patriotism, the missions the great hyperbole mean nothing when you are sweating your ass off in a foreign land where everyone hates you. It boils down to building relationships with those whom you serve with. They are really the people you do what you do day in and day out. So, with all of that, I spent my day just remembering, not their deaths, but their lives. It’s more important to me that way.

Now, we can rewind on my weekend of altiholism..

I worked a bit on the Sith Warrior under the Juggernaut DPS builds. I can’t say I like them that much. The heavy armor is nice of course…but I just was not feeling the class mechanics up through lv 30. It could have been that I need to find someone who knows the class rotations to get more effective. Of course I know Juggs tend to be tank specced, but I wanted to see what they could do in Heavy armor as a DPS spec. The companions are more interesting than the storyline to be honest. The whole Darth Baras didn’t really appeal to me. For starters…why would I follow this arrogant fat ass? Seriously…from the get go I wasn’t impressed with his rhetoric. I dunno, I will try the storyline again. I like the aesthetics of the warrior I created, made him look pretty hardcore. I may re roll this one into a Marauder, at least it may be a bit more fun while trying to get a hold of the storyline. The one good thing about x12 xp is that it allows me to like or dislike something and reset with minimal time investment.

Further worked Jhexi, the rotation is pretty easy, just getting through the storyline is sort of a yawn to me. I did get little Blizz as my latest companion though. While I doubt I’ll use him much in combat, he is one of those fun companions to have around. Crazy little Jawa makes life so entertaining.

Started an Inquisitor Assassin. I’m still trying to decide if I should keep the DPS spec or if I should go tank mode with her. Both are very appealing and fun to work. I very rarely play tanks in game, but the AOE and threat system for the Inq is pretty entertaining, same as with the Jedi Shadow Tank. If she does remain as a tank, she’ll be relegated to PvE rather than have a pvp role.  More importantly, the storyline has my attention grasped. Now, I read briefly before on how the whole Lord Zash line works out and that’s fine. The interaction is really very entertaining. Even from the get go, I felt there was purpose to the Inquisitor storyline. It was easy to react to situations and I quickly saw my Inquisitor had a very dark and sadistic side to her. Not due to being forced into  situations…but it just felt natural by choice and the story responded in a way that kept me drawn in. I haven’t fired this character yet…we will see where it goes.

Made another agent, this time as an operator for the sole purpose of pvp. I’m on a PvE server, but War Zones pop frequently so it isn’t that big of a deal. The down side though, unless I’m with my guild…pvp is really painful. Pick Up Games are very annoying in the lack of teamwork or even sense of strategy. I don’t mind challenging. Honestly if my opponents are solid players and a good fight is put up, loosing doesn’t sting as much. But sometimes the PUG really is enough to piss off a saint. Still, I did have a lot of fun doing sneak and stabs. Built up enough tokens to even afford a couple of Imperial Soldiers to add into my Stronghold. I like a couple of body guards to add flavor to the place. This one will be a slow leveling process because primarily he will be spending the majority of his time in Warzones and not out doing quests. This allows for time to perfect rotations and individual tactics as well as working with my guild.

Mharius continues to be my raiding sniper character. Sunday night’s raid proved pretty difficult for him. I was just off my game for some reason. Normally I know when to Gun and when to Run. My rotations were good but Boss AOE’s as well as a bit of bad luck with some adds I wasn’t watching for made it a pretty rough run for the evening. Good side is, the only person being critical of me was me. The rest of the group was being very patient. It didn’t help I had a pounding headache that felt like someone was driving a knitting needle into the base of my skull. But I did make a commitment and it takes a pretty hefty reason to not show up when I say I will. All in all, I still had fun hanging out with the Guild for these events, it was just a tad rougher than normal.

Well, that has been my journey over the last few days. Hope everyone who got a holiday enjoyed it. I know I did. Till next time, I’ll see you on the high ground!

One response to “Altiholism and a Stand Down

Leave a Reply

