PvP in the Mid Level Brackets and why Bolster is BS


Star Wars The Old Republic-09-09-2015 21-52-24The last couple of nights I’ve been struggling in the PvP War zones on my server (Ebon Hawk). I did alot of research on Dulfy.net in order to maximize my rotations.My gear is equivalent to my level (46 now) and I use stims during combat. Still, I wasn’t making any serious gains in the warzones on the individual damage basis. Most of my opponents were 55+ in level and gear. But I heard the scream of “BUT YOU HAVE BOLSTER”!!!

Bolster is supposed to upgrade all of your stats, hit points and equivalent existing skills to Lv 60. Makes sense to level the playing field. Yet, there are at least a few critical skills that my level is missing that would enhance my rotation and damage ability that I have not learned yet. Also, if you look at the difference between say LV 47-49 gear vs Lv 55 gear, there is a huge discrepancy in stats that enhance your existing baseline. With all of this, I have to argue that mid lv bracket pvp is a tiresome grind unless you. So it was suggested, go back and level to the high end and then compete. Ya ok, but I’m trying to grind out as many commendations as possible prior to the next expansion to be ready for end game pvp.

In the end, I really wish that there was a bracket break at lv 49 through 59 to even things out. So why isn’t there? Well, honestly the pvp population in SWTOR is somewhat lack luster in numbers. Due to perceived imbalances in pvp classes a lot of PvPers left the game. Ebon Hawk has a fairly active amount of War Zone fighters, but most are at lv 60, so the mid lv brackets are less populated. I checked things out on Jung Ma and the other PvP server and they are almost completey devoid of players. The hard core pvpers I knew from last year moved to Ebon Hawk. Why? Well open world pvp is just not happening. So that leaves War Zones. My opinion is that the PvPers went to Ebon Hawk first and foremost to have more WZ’s pop and fight more often. Of course it helps that they are steam rolling casual players but hey that’s the name of the game when you set foot into the battle grounds.

I will admit I need to get some augments to enhance my expertise rating, but it’s hard to keep up with those while leveling up my toon and certainly not cost effective credit wise in my opinion. It also doesn’t help that casual players don’t know how to target and focus fire on high priority targets (you know, healer, then dps, then tanks with slight tweaks pending upon class). Also they often fail to understand that once a CC is executed, avoid dps that would break said CC. This of course would be a huge help in being able to quickly dispatch other priority targets. So, the grind continues.

At any rate these are solely my opinions and experiences. Any thoughts?

2 responses to “PvP in the Mid Level Brackets and why Bolster is BS

  1. You know, I was always under the impression that Bolster does compensate for people being lower level by boosting their abilities more, mostly because I dimly remember an encounter with a level 14 in a lowbie warzone and how absolutely every single one of his 2 or 3 abilties hit like a truck. But I don’t really know – maybe I’m giving Bioware’s engineers too much credit.

    Maybe they’ll re-think the level brackets in KotFE, but overall I really appreciate that they allow players of different levels to play together. Even in WoW with its millions of players their tiny brackets could cause considerable queue times. Going in at the low end of your bracket is simply a gamble. Honestly, I would just go gain a few more levels elsewhere and then go back. With how much they’ve lowered gear costs, I wouldn’t worry too much about having to save up commendations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm I think as an experiment this weekend, I’ll parse the damage out on StarParse to see if it is indeed a leveler based upon the bolster stat. It could simply be that I need to practice more on the combat dummy for rotation speed or just that while I get focus fired the second I pop out of stealth, everyone on same side is out deciding to do 1v1 rather than coop take downs. It just seemed easier when I was in a pvp guild on Jung Ma. Good points though. As to burning the levels, I suppose I could…but I am seriously concerned about the next end game comms costs. I guess time will tell. Thanks for dropping by Shintar!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

