The Madness begins in 4.0 Early access! Thoughts on Bit Raider and other stuff


Ok, you really are going to hate me. I’m not going to talk about the new in game mechanics. I’m not going to rage on anything. Most of all, I’m not going to give you spoilers if you are still waiting for official release date. I know, there are some blogs out there that are. I got it. It’s ok. Now I’m going to tell you why I’m not talking about stuff.

I’m too fucking busy having fun in the game! Last night I started to log on. For some damned reason it said that the DL wasn’t complete at the Character screen. Ok Jedi students, this is honestly a mind trick when you know you did the DL before work. So fast as I could, I logged out, went into the game folder and deleted all the contents within the Bit Raider folder. (Pro Tip #1: If your game says DL is in progress or isn’t complete…ya do what I did, go into the game folder, then drill down into the bit raider folder; open it up and delete all contents inside. DO NOT delete the folder itself! Now back out and then restart your game.. It will reorganize your files. Then it will upload anything else missing and BAM! Your ready to rock and roll! Ok, Bit Raider has been a pain in the ass before and will in my opinion always be a pain in the ass. I think it was a very poorly executed software concept that does more to screw with people than help them. It is very system dependent, so when I hear some people say “Never affected me” ya it was because it talks to your system better. Anyways, if you have problems as described above, try that little pro tip it often solves the problem.

Pro Tip 2: Can’t get onto the server: Ok, often when there are updates through the SWTOR Client, it doesn’t talk very nice to get through your firewall. Go into your computer settings and confirm/deny if your firewall allows SWTOR to get through your system. You may have to recheck the box even though you have done it before. Sometimes, the version # of the patch update will negate your previous selection, so do your due diligence and check it again! Now once you have checked it, completely log out of your computer and log back in. I’ve had very successful results doing this. Just something to take into account.

Ok, that’s my tech advice for the day, only because a few people have asked me about these very specific problems.

Now, I won’t talk about new game mechanics because I really haven’t tested them enough to be a reliable source. I will say one thing, if you don’t want your companions to come walking into a cut scene in their underwear, MAKE SURE you re equip them BEFORE you start your KoTFE chapters. Because of the new system, for some reason, everything but the chest piece ends up in your inventory. So be sure you check your inventory and load all of your companions again. Re equip them with the clothes they put into your inventory otherwise they will be walking around with very little on (Aric Jorgan and Tanno Vik in nothing but skivvies was a little horrifying for me). Ok, that’s as far as I’m gonna talk on that.

The Story...NO SPOILERS TILL OFFICIAL RELEASE….But HOLY SHIT it is a bad ass story! You gotta come and play. Haven’t been round for awhile? Sub’s get free 60s. Get your Star Wars ever lovin ass in there and play Dammit! It is totally worth it, I promise! I don’t want to go too deep into the story, but it so far is pretty awesome! I started at 730 PM last night, looked up and it was 1230AM…and I had to be up in 4 hours for work lol. So I’m a little loopy today. Judge for your self, but I think i’s well worth getting into. Next week, I’ll write a full review of the content, mechanics and changes. This will mostly be on the effects it had on my game play and enjoyment. Till then. I really hope if you haven’t already get your ass in and play. If you can’t do it till official release I understand but just do it! If you are playing, take your time, don’t rush it! I heard someone on Twitter cleared to 65 in a couple of hours. Well, I suppose if you space bar through everything ya, it can be done. But don’t do that. I implore you to take the time, think about your decisions, they do have impacts. Enjoy the journey! Hell, I even RP walk in a lot of cases for different reasons. That is normally not like me, but this round I really wanted to explore stuff. I promise you it’s a wonderful journey so far with plenty of unexpected twists. Want to know more? Get your ass in here! Till next time, I’ll see ya on the High Ground!

2 responses to “The Madness begins in 4.0 Early access! Thoughts on Bit Raider and other stuff

  1. I disabled BitRaider long ago. Seems to cause more issues and take longer than talking to the update server directly.
    It does man you have to download the entire thing again, but only once. The 4.0 update came down at around 2mb/s as opposed to the 500kb/s I get through bitraider.

    Got my main to 65 and really enjoyed the story. Much more immersive and fun.

    Now going for the Legendary by completing all 8 class stories. Companions are USEFUL NOW! Holy shit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know right?!?!? It’s been a lot of fun doing the story line, and I am taking a lot of notes for my review of the expansion next week. The only reason I haven’t really gotten into it is because I’m waiting until official release so as to avoid too many spoilers lol. Go after all your planetary Heroics too They are a lot of fun!!

      Like

Leave a comment